Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies, heading for Iraq

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

(Hey, it’s better than my last photo of cookies…getting better but still a lot of room for improvement…)

I signed on to a team (Kelseys Kakes) at BakingGALS to send cookies over to Iraq. It’s something I’ve often thought of doing but never got around to. The Oatmeal Cookie Guy posted about it, and that got me off my duff. These CC Oatmeal cookies are also one of his recipes.

It was fun to bake knowing they’ll be going to some folks who will really appreciate them. I love to bake but don’t dare have too much sweet stuff around the house, and while friends love the cookies, they also are not wanting to eat too many. So this is the perfect solution: I get the fun of baking, still enjoy a few myself :-), AND give a whole bunch away where they will be heartily welcomed. Cool! I sent a couple boxes of WetNaps, too, and a note with the ingredient list and saying “hi.”

These cookies are going to an Army Reserve unit, a Public Affairs Operation Center working directly with members of the international media who are in Iraq to get the “real story” for their audiences.

It’s not hard to do this; I recommend the experience. The BakingGALS website has an FAQ page that tells you just how to pack them and how to fill out the mailing forms. Check it out and maybe you’d like to try it as well!

2 Comments

Filed under Bake

2 responses to “Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies, heading for Iraq

  1. whoops, put the comment under the other photo. Nice job, any tips on what you did to make it a better photo?

    • Carol

      Hi, thanks so much! Your inn looks great, I look forward to checking out your site and blog more.

      It’s a better photo mainly because I put them on a white plate and used more appropriate lighting (which I am in the midst of really figuring out how to do.) The first one, I thought, oh won’t it be pretty on a blue plate with the lovely yellow tiles in the background? And I’m sure my overhead kitchen light will be just fine. Um, no. :-) It didn’t exactly translate to the picture.

      This one, I put into a makeshift lightbox and used a daylight fluorescent bulb. Much better, but still not quite where I want it. And I don’t have Photoshop or any editing software, so no help there. I’m working on photographing my jewelry this way, too, so a lot of trial and error going on.

      I hope you’ll stop by again, thanks!

Leave a Reply

