Oatmeal Cookies, loaded up with good stuff

img_02331

These come from Better Homes and Garden magazine, via Anna at Cookie Madness. Gotta love a cookie with “loaded” in the name…

The BHG recipe is here (you need to register, it’s free) and Anna’s posts about the cookie are here and here. I tweaked the recipe a bit, my version is below.

These are delicious and hearty, and can likely hold up to lots of modifications and additions according to your own tastes.

LOADED OATMEAL COOKIES modified from BHG

1/4 cup butter, softened (I used unsalted)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
(I might try it with all brown sugar next time)
1 heaping tsp. ground cinnamon (I used my cinnamon-plus mixture, which includes some additional spices)
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt (use 1/8 if using salted butter)
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup flax seed meal
1/4 cup oat bran
2 oz. dark chocolate, finely chopped (I used Whole Foods 365 Dark Chocolate Chunks)
1/4 cup dried cranberries (I soaked them in boiling water for a few minutes first)
1/4 cup chopped walnuts, toasted

OPTIONAL: I added about 1/3 cup cinnamon chips, and rolled each cookie in just a bit of raw sugar before baking.

ALSO OPTIONAL: I baked up six cookies right away, then chilled the dough overnight and baked the rest the next day. I do think the texture and spice taste improve a bit with this method – although the first six cookies were just fine as well!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (if baking right away)

In a large mixing bowl beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add brown sugar, granulated sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Beat in egg and vanilla until combined. Beat in flour. Stir in rolled oats, flax seed meal, oat bran, chocolate, cranberries, and walnuts (and cinnamon chips, if using) (dough will be a little crumbly).*

*(note – this is how BHG says to do it. I didn’t look closely and just mixed the flour etc. together and stirred it all into the wet ingredients, rather than beating in the flour separately. My dough was not crumbly, and the cookies came out fine. So the recipe seems to be rather forgiving.)

Drop about one tablespoon size or so (I used a cookie scoop) onto parchment or Silpat.

Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until tops are lightly browned. Let cookies cool on cookie sheet for 1 minute. Transfer cookies to wire rack to cool. Makes about two dozen cookies.

2 Comments

Filed under Bake

2 responses to “Oatmeal Cookies, loaded up with good stuff

  1. Wow! These look great. I love oatmeal cookies. 101 cookbooks had a great recipe also with carrots added. I think I will make your recipe but add the carrots. Nice blog!

    • Carol

      Hey, thanks, TC! I’ve made 101CB “Nikki’s Healthy Cookies” a few times, really like them. I’m checking out the carrot cookies you mentioned, going to try those as well. Thank you so much for your comment, and I’ve been checking out your blog, too!

Leave a Reply

